About

Mission Statement: To create a platform for the Wilson College of Textile graduate students to (1) share ideas in an inclusive environment, (2) network and socialize and (3) learn from each other.

Membership: Every Wilson College of Textile graduate student is an automatic member of TAGS. Members are encouraged to participate in all events and are eligible to run for officer positions. Positions are determined at the end of each spring semester, however, volunteers can participate at any point.  Officers participate in formal meetings weekly as well as all semester events in addition to external events. Please contact an officer if you are interested in learning more!

TAGS is the Wilson College of Textiles’ chapter of the NC State GSA.  A representative from TAGS sits on the GSA council and represents the interests and concerns of the students to the university. TAGS is also represented in the Tompkins Textile Student Council, the student government of the Wilson College of Textiles.

TAGS is backed by the much appreciated guidance of Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jon Rust, Associate Dean for Academic Programs

2018-2019 Officers and Representatives

President Mostakima Lubna mlubna@ncsu.edu
Vice President – External Affairs Hannah Dedmon hcdedmon@ncsu.edu
Vice President – Internal Affairs Sara Johnson snjohns4@ncsu.edu
Secretary Manik Chandra Biswas mbiswas2@ncsu.edu
Treasurer  Alaric Bryant aabryant@ncsu.edu
Event Coordinator(s) Ashley Williams & DaXian Zha aswilli8@ncsu.edu & dzha@ncsu.edu
Public Relations Officer(s) Dakota Batch & Taslim Ur Rashid ddbatch@ncsu.edu & turashid@ncsu.edu
Career Development Officer Zahra Saki zsaki@ncsu.edu

These officers and representatives organize events and act as mediators between the graduate student body and administrators, professors, and other organizations of interest.

Stay updated about TAGS events by opting into mailing list

Information is shared with graduate students directly through the Wilson College of Textiles’ Graduate Student email list. To join this list:

  • Subscribe by sending an email, with no subject, addressed to: mj2@lists.ncsu.edu
  • The email body should contain the following single line, customized with your ncsu address: subscribe tx-grad youremail@ncsu.edu
  • You should receive a confirmation email shortly after.

Please note that this is for Wilson College of Textiles’ graduate students ONLY.