Date of Wilson College of Textiles Research Open House: Friday, March 26, 2021, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m..

We will start off the Research Open House bright and early at 9 am with some words from our very own Dean Hinks and President of TAGS Chandler Probert. After the introduction, we will have our first keynote speaker, Philip Henson, from HanesBrands speak on sustainability in the Textile Industry. Our online poster session will begin after Mr. Henson’s presentation. All Research Open House attendees can reserve time to speak with the poster presenters. Links to individual zoom rooms with each poster presenter will be posted on our website. This is a great way to network, ask questions, and learn more about the amazing research our graduate students are doing.

Unfortunately, we will not be able to provide a lunch for all of our participants but we will allow enough time for everyone to enjoy a relaxing lunch.

In the afternoon, we will be joined by Jeff Stull from International Personal Protection. Where he will give a presentation on personal protective textiles and some of the challenges this area has faced as a result of the global pandemic. Afterward, students will compete in a 3MT style competition where they will have to condense years of research and numerous experiments down to a single static slide and 3 minutes. The 3MT will be judged by members of our faculty. Winners for each competition will be announced following the 3MT competition. 


9:00 a.m.Opening Remarks from Dean David Hinks and TAGS President Chandler Probert Zoom Link
9:15 a.m.Keynote Speaker #1 with Q&A Session – Philip Henson from HanesBrands Inc
10:00 a.m.Poster Session with Q&APosters
Reserve time to talk
with Poster Presenters
12:00 p.m.Lunch Break
1:30 p.m.Keynote Speaker #2 with Q&A Session – Jeff Stull from International Personal ProtectionZoom Link
2:30 p.m.3 Minute Thesis Competition
3:30 p.m.Closing Statements – Dr. Pamela McCauley
Awards Announcement – Dr. Xiangwu Zhang

Order of 3MT Competition:

  1. Hamid Ebrahimi
  2. Yuhan Hu
  3. Manik Chandra Biswas
  4. Wenna Han
  5. Azizul Hoque
  6. Arjunsing Girase
  7. Samit Chakrabory